Club Championships 2018

Yet Another Record Year for Leixlip Tennis Club

The 2018 Senior Leixlip Tennis Club Championships took place throughout the month of September culminating in a Day of Finals that took place on 22 September.

This year, we broke the records again with 68 individual entrants (37 men & 31 ladies), most of whom took part in multiple competitions, with record levels of entry across all events.

Once again, there was a trophy competition and a plate competition for each event, with everyone participating in the trophy competitions and the defeated players being entered into the plate.

The Day of Finals was another great success with plenty of excellent tennis being played and plenty of spectators on hand to support the players.

This was followed up by the presentation of prizes, which included the perpetual trophies and plates and individual plaques for all of our finalists. Joining us this year to present the prizes was our new Head Coach, Liam Cassidy, who was himself presented with a club jacket to welcome him to his new club.

A huge well done to everyone who took part in this year’s championships and to all of our finalists for, once again, making this event the highlight of our year.

Trophy Results
Event Winner(s) Runner(s) Up
Men's Singles Serge Tureau Des Bradley
Ladies' Singles Nikita Makarova Bernie Stapleton
Men's Doubles Des Bradley
Enzo Dowling
Don Moore
Vincent Mulhall
Ladies' Doubles Brenda Howley
Aoife O'Dwyer
Olive Gaynor
Sheena McHugh
Mixed Doubles Brenda Howley
Des Bradley
Julie Edwards
Martin Dwyer

Plate Results
Event Winner(s) Runner(s) Up
Men's Singles Greg Kenny Eoin Burke
Ladies' Singles Laoise O'Toole Olive Gaynor
Men's Doubles Sean Kavanagh
Ray Kilpatrick
Martin Dwyer
Nigel Kelly
Ladies' Doubles Julie Edwards
Cate Moore
Mary Boyle
Anna Lawlor
Mixed Doubles Eleanor Flaherty
Peter Walsh
Deirdre Power
Keith Ashmore


Leixlip Tennis Club